Jack’s Mannequin: People & Things (w/Bonus Tracks Download)

15 12 2011

Track Listing:

1 Release Me
2 My Racing Thoughts
3 Television
4 Amy, I
5 Hey Hey Hey (We’re All Gonna Die)
6 People, Running
7 Amelia Jean
8 Platform Fire
9 Hostage
10 Restless Dream
11 Casting Lines

Bonus Songs:

12 No Man Is An Island
13 Ten Days Gone
14 Dancing With A Gun
15 Broken Bird
16 Out Of It (Passenger Demonstration Tape)
17 Locked Doors (Transit Demonstration Tape)
18 Keep Rising (Passenger Demonstration Tape)

Link to purchase: iTunes
Link to purchase: Amazon
Bonus Tracks Download (Mediafire): http://www.mediafire.com/?4vrcbzyno0fxv89


Lead singer, Andrew McMahon, delivers yet another very solid release with People & Things. The first song and single off the album, My Racing Thoughts, kick-starts People & Things into high gear. The energy of the album continues to mount with a seemingly Billy Joel inspired piano anthem called Release Me. From there, McMahon confesses his inability to sleep without the tv on in Television. A feeling that I know all too well.

Amy, I is a fitting soundtrack for this time of year. With lyrics like:

Snow on the ground in Tennessee
North came South at the tops of the trees
Another long winter trying to fight this freeze
Waiting but the cold’s got a hold on me
Hold on me
Hold on to me

This is a bit of a departure from what we’re used to hearing from the Southern California native. The stand out track on the album for me would have to be Hostage. The song follows in the footsteps of power-pop classic JM tracks like The Resolution and I’m Ready. Perhaps the most heartfelt track on People & Things comes in the form of a bonus song called No Man Is An Island. This is a simple piano ballad that features some of McMahon’s most honest and endearing lyrics to date.

This album has definitely grown on me in the time since its October release. While People & Things isn’t on the same level as Everything In Transit, it’s definitely a step up from their 08 release The Glass Passenger. All-in-all when you add in the 7 bonus songs JM fans will find a lot to be thankful for this year.

Rating Out Of 5:


%d bloggers like this: